2018 Outer Critics Circle Awards complete winners list

The winners of the 68th Annual Outer Critics Circle awards were announced on May 7, 2018.

The Outer Critics Circle was founded during the 1949-1950 award season, they were found because of fact that the Drama Critics Circle was an invitation-only, and only people who worked for the bigger daily papers got an invitation. The other reason they were founded, was that John Gassner and his colleagues had no place where they could come and discuss theatre, they only wrote about it for papers and academic journals.

This year the winners will be honored on May 24, 2018, at Sardi's restaurant in New York City. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and My Fair Lady both came out with huge wins this year.

Related: Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban to host the 2018 Tony Awards

See below for the list of winners!

Outstanding New Broadway Play
The Children

Farinelli and the King

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child


Outstanding New Broadway Musical

Escape to Margaritaville


Mean Girls

Prince of Broadway

SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play

Cost of Living


The Low Road

Mima's Tale

John Gassner Award (Presented for an American play preferably by a new playwright)
Amy and the Orphans

Napoli, Brooklyn



Jocelyn Bioh School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Cruel Intentions

Desperate Measures

Jerry Springer — The Opera

Miss You Like Hell

Woody Sez

Outstanding Book of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Tina Fey, Mean Girls

Kyle Jarrow, SpongeBob SquarePants

Quiara Allegría Hudes, Miss You Like Hell

Peter Kellogg, Desperate Measures

Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Yolanda Adams, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, Jonathan Coulton, Alexander Ebert of Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, the Flaming Lips, Lady Antebellum, Cyndi Lauper, John Legend, Panic! At the Disco, Plain White T’s, They Might Be Giants, T.I., David Bowie, Tom Kenny and Andy Paley, and Tom Kitt, SpongeBob SquarePants

Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, Frozen

Imogen Heap, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

David Friedman and Peter Kellogg, Desperate Measures

Erin McKeown and Quiara Allegría Hudes, Miss You Like Hell

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Angels in America

Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train

Lobby Hero

Three Tall Women


Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)

My Fair Lady

Once on This Island

Pacific Overtures

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train

Andrew Garfield, Angels in America

Tom Hollander, Travesties

Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living

Michael Urie, The Government Inspector

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Anthony Boyle, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Johnny Flynn, Hangmen

David Morse, The Iceman Cometh

Nathan Lane, Angels in America

Paul Sparks, Edward Albee’s At Home at the Zoo

Outstanding Actress in a Play
MaameYaa Boafo, School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play

Jessica Hecht, Admissions

Glenda Jackson, Three Tall Women

Lauren Ridloff, Children of a Lesser God

Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Jamie Brewer, Amy and the Orphans

Denise Gough, Angels in America

Harriet Harris, The Low Road

Laurie Metcalf, Three Tall Women

Mary Testa, The Government Inspector

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Harry Hadden-Paton, My Fair Lady

Joshua Henry, Carousel

David M. Lutken,Woody Sez

Conor Ryan, Desperate Measures

Ethan Slater, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady

Alexander Gemignani, Carousel

Gavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePants

Nick Wyman, Desperate Measures

Tony Yazbeck, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Lauren Ambrose, My Fair Lady

Erika Henningsen, Mean Girls

Hailey Kilgore, Once on This Island

Taylor Louderman, Mean Girls

Patti Murin, Frozen

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Kerry Butler, Mean Girls

Lindsay Mendez, Carousel

Lauren Molina, Desperate Measures

Ashley Park, Mean Girls

Emily Skinner, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Solo Performance
Billy Crudup, Harry Clarke

Eve Ensler, In the Body of the World

Alison Fraser, Squeamish

John Lithgow, John Lithgow: Stories by Heart

Sharon Washington, Feeding the Dragon

Outstanding Director of a Play
Jo Bonney, Cost of Living

Marianne Elliott, Angels in America

Joe Mantello, Three Tall Women

Patrick Marber, Travesties

John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Michael Arden, Once on This Island

Bill Castellino, Desperate Measures

Tina Landau, SpongeBob SquarePants

Casey Nicholaw, Mean Girls

Bartlett Sher, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Choreographer
Camille A. Brown, Once on This Island

Christopher Gattelli,My Fair Lady

Christopher Gattelli, SpongeBob SquarePants

Steven Hoggett, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Justin Peck, Carousel

Outstanding Scenic Design (Play or Musical)
Miriam Buether, Three Tall Women

Myung Hee Cho, In the Body of the World

Christine Jones, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Michael Yeargan, My Fair Lady

David Zinn, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)
Katrina Lindsay, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Clint Ramos, Once on This Island

Paloma Young, Time and the Conways

David Zinn, SpongeBob SquarePants

Catherine Zuber, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)
Kevin Adams, SpongeBob SquarePants

Neil Austin, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Lap Chi Chu, Mlima’s Tale

Paule Constable, Angels in America

Paul Russell, Farinelli and the King

Outstanding Projection Design (Play or Musical)
Tim Reid, 1984

Fin Ross, Frozen

Fin Ross, In the Body of the World

Fin Ross and Ash Woodward, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Fin Ross and Adam Young, Mean Girls

Outstanding Sound Design (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Gareth Fry, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Kate Marvin, [Porto]

Fitz Patton, Napoli, Brooklyn

Marc Salzberg, My Fair Lady

Darron L. West, Mlima’s Tale

Outstanding Orchestrations (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Jason Robert Brown, Prince of Broadway

Tom Kitt, SpongeBob SquarePants

AnnMarie Milazzo and Michael Starobin, Once on This Island

Jonathan Tunick, Carousel

Claire van Kampen, Farinelli and the King

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply