‘The Revenant’ wins top ASC award for Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki continued his march towards becoming the first ever winner of three consecutive Oscars for cinematography with a win at the American Society of Cinematographers Awards on Feb. 14.

Lubezki won his third-straight ASC Award for Theatrical Release, thanks to The Revenant. The cinematographer, who is also known as Chivo, also won the Best Cinematography Award at the BAFTAs this weekend.

The award continues a streak Lubezki started with Alfonso Cuaron’s Gravity (2013) and continued with Alejandro G. Inarritu’s Birdman (2014). Inarritu also directed The Revenant.

Although Lubezki didn’t win Oscars for Cuaron’s Children of Men (2006) and Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life (2011), he did win at the ASC Awards for those films.

Ridley Scott (The Martian) received a special Board of Governors Award, while John Toll won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The other winners of the night were:

TV Movie, Miniseries or Pilot: Pierre Gill, CSC; Casanova - “Pilot”
TV Series: Vanja Cernjul, ASC, HFS; Marco Polo - “The Fourth Step”
Spotlight: Adam Karkpaw; Macbeth/Matyas Erdely, HSC; Son of Saul (tie)
Theatrical Release: Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC; The Revenant

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Daniel S Levine

Daniel S Levine is a longtime movie fan and a graduate of Hoftsra University. I also know just about everything you might need to know about Star Wars.